Russian Sorrow

Sitkovetsky Trio meets Tsjaikovski

icon-timezo 31 mei 20:30-21:30

icon-pointerOranjestein Pavilion

Russian Sorrow

The Sitkovetsky Trio is one of the foremost piano trios of the current generation of musicians. Their well-thought-out, dedicated approach has earned the ensemble much praise and many invitations from all over the world: from the Royal Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Palais des Beaux Arts, the Louvre in Paris to Wigmore Hall in London and Lincoln Center in New York, to name but a few.

The concert at Oranjewoud centres on the monumental piano trio by Tchaikovsky, subtitled ‘À la mémoire d’un grand artiste’. He wrote this trio in memory of his dear friend and mentor Nikolai Rubinstein. The second part is particularly special because the variation form is reminiscent of his famous Rococo Variation. This piece is, without a doubt, one of the most difficult to play of all the music Tchaikovsky has ever written. Despite its 45-minute duration, it continues to be popular because of its breathtaking lyricism and almost comical ending.

The concert opens with Notturno by Schubert, which starts off as a sweet reverie but soon has the listener in its grip in inimitable fashion.

Artists and performers

Sitkovetsky Trio


Schubert - Notturno in E-flat Major, Opus 148 (D. 897)
Tchaikovsky - Piano Trio in A-minor, Opus 50


€ 22.50*
€ 11.25 (young people aged 16-30)
€ 2.50 (children aged 4-15)

*excluding stack discount

Tickets are only valid in combination with a festival wristband